Planning and Development

The Susquehanna County Department of Planning and Development administers the day-to-day operations of the Susquehanna County Planning Commission. Review of subdivision and land development plans, preparation for the monthly Planning Commission meeting, ordinance review and development, and supporting any and all activities relative to land use and the development of the county are duties of the Department.

The Susquehanna County Planning Commission meets on the last Tuesday of each month at 7:00 PM at the County Office Building, 81 Public Avenue, Montrose, Pa. The Tentative Agenda for the upcoming meeting is posted one week prior to the meeting.

One of the most important aspects of the Department is interacting with the public. Listening to what you say and letting you know what we’re doing is essential to the orderly development of the county. We welcome your ideas and comments!

Tell us what you think! Here’s your chance. We need to know!

Email to tell us your ideas.

Thank YOU for helping to plan the future of Susquehanna County!




 Board Members

 The members of the Susquehanna County Planning Commission and their planning districts are as follows. In municipal matters the Commission members act in an advisory capacity only. For technical assistance contact the municipality directly.

Chris Caterson
(570) 278-1151
Bridgewater Township, Brooklyn Township, Jessup Township, Montrose Borough

Matthew Curley
(570) 934-2786
Apolacon Township, Forest Lake Township, Friendsville Borough, Little Meadows Borough, Middletown Township, Rush Township

Richard Franks
(570) 879-4376
Great Bend Borough, Great Bend Township, Hallstead Borough, New Milford Borough, New Milford Township

Nancy Harvatine
(570) 679-2273
Forest City Borough, Gibson Township, Herrick Township, Uniondale Borough

Robert Housel

(570) 289-4191

Clifford Township, Harford Township, Lenox Township

Joseph Kempa

(570) 756-3086

Harmony Township, Lanesboro Borough, Oakland Borough, Oakland Township, Susquehanna Depot Borough​

John Ramsay
Choconut Township, Franklin Township, Liberty Township, Silver Lake Township

Katherine Shelly
(570) 756-2429
Ararat Township, Jackson Township, Thompson Borough, Thompson Township

Brandon Cleveland
(570) 833-2152
Auburn Township, Dimock Township, Lathrop Township, Springville Township, Hop Bottom Borough


 Contact Information

  • Planning and Development

    County Office Building
    81 Public Avenue (PO Box 218)
    Montrose, PA 18801
    Telephone: (570) 278-5950
    Fax: (570) 278-5951
    Duane Naugle, Director of Planning
    Carol Ainey, Deputy Director of Planning
​You may contact us using our Contact Us form.

 Documents and Information