SUSQUEHANNA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Alan M. Hall, Chairman Elizabeth M. Arnold, Vice Chairman MaryAnn Warren, Commissioner

570-278-4600 (Phone) 570-278-9268 (Fax)



R.S. Stoud, Chief Clerk Michael J. Giangrieco, Solicitor

> PO Box 218 105 Maple Street Montrose, PA 18801

PROCLAMATION 2017-09 Lyme Disease Awareness Month May 2017

Whereas, Lyme disease is an infectious disease caused by spirochetal bacteria, Borrelia Burgdorferi, which is carried by deer ticks and our understanding of these complex organisms is incomplete;

Whereas, Lyme disease and other tick-borne diseases are seriously underreported across Susquehanna County, the Commonwealth of PA and Nation; and

Whereas, Lyme disease is the most common tick-borne disease in the United States; and

Whereas, the number of reported cases of Lyme disease in Susquehanna County has dramatically increased and reported cases only represent a portion of all individuals exposed to, or diagnosed with Lyme disease; and

Whereas, if not treated early, Lyme disease can infect every part of the body and cause a wide variety of symptoms requiring medical practitioners to have familiarity with its various clinical presentations, and in some cases, untreated or inadequately treated Lyme disease can lead to death or disability; and

Whereas, there are many protective and preventative actions that can be taken by individuals to reduce exposure and infection; and

Whereas, through public awareness, physical education, and the creation of the Susquehanna County Tick Borne Diseases Task Force, the County of Susquehanna seeks to minimize the devastating effects of Lyme disease among all Susquehanna County residents by encouraging all residents and medical providers to take all types of tick-borne diseases seriously;

Now Therefore Be It Resolved, that the Commissioners of Susquehanna County declare the month of May 2017, to be Lyme Disease Awareness Month in Susquehanna County and urge all citizens of Susquehanna County to take cognizance of this event and participate fittingly in its observance.

Adopted April 12, 2017

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Alan M. Hall

Elizabeth M. Arnold

MaryAnn Warren

ATTEST

R. Carrico, Deputy Chief Clerk